Shop Forum More Submit  Join Login
Andalusia 1833-1931 by SalesWorlds Andalusia 1833-1931 by SalesWorlds
This maps continues the previous historical map of Andalusia: Four kingdoms of Andalusia 1492 - 1720

The 1833 territorial division of Spain divided Spain into provinces, classified into "historic regions". Many of these regions correspond to present-day autonomous communities of Spain and nearly all of the provinces retain roughly or precisely these borders.

Immediately after the death of King Ferdinand VII on September 1833, the regent Maria Christina attempted to find a moderate third way between the absolutist Carlists —the followers of the Infante Carlos— and the liberals. This mission was given to First Secretary of State Francisco Cea Bermúdez, leader of a government that lasted only into the following January, having been unable to satisfy either side, let alone both. Despite his vain efforts to gain the support of either the liberals or the Carlists, his government undertook a major reform of the territorial division of Spain whose effects are still felt after more than a century-and-a-half: the division of Spain into provinces.

A royal decree of 20 November 1833 ratified a plan put forth by Javier de Burgos, secretary of state for development, which created the basis for a centralized state divided into 49 provinces. 

Javier de Burgos took as his model the departments of France. While many of the borders and inclusions in the provinces may at first appear arbitrary from a historical and geographical point of view, he was operating under a set of rational criteria: area (it was intended to be possible to travel between the capital and any point in the province in a single day), population (wherever feasible, the provinces had populations between 100,000 and 400,000), and geographic coherence.
No comments have been added yet.

Add a Comment:

Featured in Collections


Submitted on
December 6, 2017
Image Size
394 KB


11 (who?)