NicolasRGiacondino's avatar

A Hero Of Grunjord

173 12 1K (1 Today)
By NicolasRGiacondino   |   Watch
Published: July 13, 2017
© 2017 - 2019 NicolasRGiacondino
Happy Thor's Day, folks!

As you know, for over a little more than a year, I've been working almost exclusively for the fine folks at Ragnarok Publications which merged with Outland Entertainment, the company for which I already worked. My duties, as amazing as it sounds, include being the in-house illustrator for many of their fabulous books and I've been itching to show you what I've been doing for this particular anthology for a while now :D

"HATH NO FURY" is a collection of fantasy, science fiction, and urban fantasy tales by some of the leading proponents of female characters in the industry. These stories feature leads inspired by women from literature, history, and film—exciting and intriguing characters in the vein of Ellen Ripley, Lara Croft, Joan of Arc, Marvel’s Black Widow, La Femme Nikita, Katniss Everdeen, Hermione Granger, and Furiosa. Of course, I couldn't have been more grateful or honored to take on such a significant book and I've given it my all to make each illustration I was assigned as powerful and strong as the story that it portrays. 

"A Hero of Grünjord" is written by Lucy A. Snyder and it's an absolutely awesome tale that, as you can see above, involves dragons, alien invasions and a world that's so well developed even in this short story format that you can't help but wish to know more once you're done.
For the illustration itself, I not only read the story (as any worthy illustrator should) but I also got help from both the author and one of the book's editors, Melanie R. Meadors to get all of the details as close to her vision as possible. Especially when it came to the portrayal of the heroine Vinca, which I wanted to make sure was not the stereotypical 'femme fatale' or scantily-clad warrioress as it is such archetypes the kind of thing this book turns upside down and throws out the window (thankfully!). Dragons, as you know, haven't always been my forté, but when the tale is as engrossing as this one, this fabulous and majestic creature just leaped off my fingers.

You can check out the Kickstarter that was held for this anthology here: Hath No Fury

I'll keep you all updated as to where you can get the book once it's out and hopefully this image will prompt you to check it out!

Thanks as usual and see you soon!

Nic.-
Image size
667x1000px 907.04 KB
IMAGE DETAILS
Software
Adobe Photoshop CS3 Windows
Comments12
anonymous's avatar
Join the community to add your comment. Already a deviant? Sign In
Deviljackies's avatar
DeviljackiesHobbyist Artist
Dragon raider is so awesome!!!! I love it!!!!
NicolasRGiacondino's avatar
NicolasRGiacondinoProfessional Traditional Artist
Thank you :D

Nic.-
SpectorKnight's avatar
Loving the sepia tones, the dragon and the design of her armor. :)
NicolasRGiacondino's avatar
NicolasRGiacondinoProfessional Traditional Artist
I had such an amazing time drawing this that I had to stop and cherish the fact that I can make a living making these! Thank you for the kind words, Joseph!

Nic.-
Skaramine's avatar
SkaramineHobbyist Traditional Artist
Sold on this anthology!
NicolasRGiacondino's avatar
NicolasRGiacondinoProfessional Traditional Artist
It's an amazing book!

Nic.-
Libra1010's avatar
 Given I cannot decide whether this lady or her dragon is the more formidable-looking we can safely say you've done the concept behind this anthology Justice!:D (Big Grin) 
NicolasRGiacondino's avatar
NicolasRGiacondinoProfessional Traditional Artist
:D That's my job, my friend!

Nic.-
Libra1010's avatar
 - and you may well be the VERY Best at what you do Master Nicolas.Nod 
MaKo85's avatar
MaKo85Hobbyist Traditional Artist
Oh boy oh boy! Now that definitely looks like it's worth checking out!:heart:
NicolasRGiacondino's avatar
NicolasRGiacondinoProfessional Traditional Artist
You're going to love this book, Tina! I'll see if I can snag a copy for you ;)

Nic.-
MaKo85's avatar
MaKo85Hobbyist Traditional Artist
:thumbsup::meow::heart:
anonymous's avatar
Join the community to add your comment. Already a deviant? Sign In