Shop Forum More Submit  Join Login
Aly and Nawat by happineff Aly and Nawat by happineff
So I've started this club on DA that is for fans of Tamora Pierce's novels, and I keep encouraging people to make fanart of their favorite characters of her novels. And yet I myself have very few fanart drawings of my own! So last month I threw together some pen sketches of my favorite characters and watercolored them because my photoshop is currently inaccessible. Worked out pretty good.

This is Aly and Nawat from the books "Trickster's Choice" and "Trickster's Queen." Aly has become a spy in a different country after she gets kidnapped by pirates and sold as a slave. The Trickster god sends Nawat to help her in her spy stuff, only the thing is that Nawat is actually a crow. He transforms into a man to help in her world and they start a romance. If Nawat looks a little weird in his pose (with the arm up) it's because I sorta envisioned him hanging from a tree. Somehow... Anyway, silly crowman. He eats bugs.
Add a Comment:
 
:iconthe-ventriloquist:
The-Ventriloquist Featured By Owner Dec 31, 2013
Oh, Nawat. You and your crow antics! XD

I like this a lot. Ally and Nawat both look so cute! This is so beautiful. :)
Reply
:iconhalomoon:
halomoon Featured By Owner Nov 16, 2011  Hobbyist Traditional Artist
i love it but i was shocked when it said Aly for its sorta my name!
Reply
:iconlatenightmessages:
LateNightMessages Featured By Owner Jun 14, 2010
Cute!
Reply
:iconjoni-lynne:
joni-lynne Featured By Owner Jul 27, 2009  Student Traditional Artist
I love this.. Aly looks surprisingly like I imagine her.
I just started reading the Tricksters books for (literally) the third time.
:D
So I'm looking up fanart!!
Reply
:iconjoni-lynne:
joni-lynne Featured By Owner Jul 27, 2009  Student Traditional Artist
I love this.. Aly looks surprisingly like I imagine her.
I just started reading the Tricksters books for (literally) the third time.
:D
So I'm looking up fanart!!
Reply
:iconphiliemeister:
Philiemeister Featured By Owner Jun 28, 2008
nice nawat looks a bit like a girl though :P
Reply
:iconmarco-island:
Marco-Island Featured By Owner May 15, 2008
I love Aly and Nawat!
I also love your pic! ^^
Reply
:iconakkigrl:
akkigrl Featured By Owner Apr 24, 2008
Awww. So cute!!
And I love their expressions. Awesome job!!
:+fav:
Reply
:iconbrittanyjane:
BrittanyJane Featured By Owner Apr 16, 2008
so cute :D
Reply
:iconinspirationcrisis:
inspirationcrisis Featured By Owner Jan 8, 2008
its soooooo cute!!! i love her books sooooooooo much...... im totally obsessed.......
Reply
:iconswwweetpie:
SwwweetPie Featured By Owner Dec 4, 2007
I love this!!

Nawat and Aly are so in love!!!:love:

Great job!!
Reply
:iconcsketch:
cSketch Featured By Owner Sep 27, 2007  Hobbyist General Artist
Aww, they are very cute. :heart:
Reply
:iconstaccatoharmony:
StaccatoHarmony Featured By Owner Jul 31, 2007
That's so SWEET!
Reply
:iconkatymoon05:
katymoon05 Featured By Owner May 1, 2007  Hobbyist General Artist
awesome! link me to the club!
Reply
:icontolkienkookad:
TolkienkookAD Featured By Owner Mar 5, 2007
aw! thats so KYOOT!
Reply
:iconsuziebob:
Suziebob Featured By Owner Dec 29, 2006
I love it. I just reread Trickster's Queen and I can completely see them acting that way. Gorgeously drawn and painted as well.

Now where is this club you mentioned... ;)
Reply
:iconemoly93:
emoly93 Featured By Owner Dec 16, 2006   Writer
Yay! Finally, someone who draws Aly the way I imagine her! :+fav: for you!
Reply
:iconfalconfire:
falconfire Featured By Owner Dec 10, 2006
I love Tamora Pierce! She is one of my fav authors. You did a awsome job
on Aly and Nawat.
Reply
:iconultimatelyanonymous:
UltimatelyAnonymous Featured By Owner Sep 10, 2006
Nawat taught my boyfriend and I the wonders of matefeeding....*.*
Reply
:iconultimatelyanonymous:
UltimatelyAnonymous Featured By Owner Sep 8, 2006
OMG!!!!!! I USED TO LOOOOOOOOOOVE NAWAT! THAT IS SO FREAKING COOL! And you had His Dark Materials fanart, too....*.*
YOUR PICTURE'S ADORABLE!
Reply
:iconkrysta-nightheart:
Krysta-Nightheart Featured By Owner Sep 7, 2006
YAY Tamora Pierce fanart!!!!!! finally!!!
Reply
:iconyamika:
Yamika Featured By Owner Jun 15, 2006
OMG!!1 I LOVE IT!!
^-^ just wonderful!!
Reply
:iconhappineff:
happineff Featured By Owner Jun 29, 2006
THANKS! :)
Reply
:iconvegtables45:
Vegtables45 Featured By Owner Mar 15, 2006
Oh finally! some Tamora Pierce fanart!
I love the way that you drew Nawat. :) He looks so cute and innocent.
Fav
Reply
:iconperilsofrosella:
PerilsOfRosella Featured By Owner Mar 1, 2006  Professional General Artist
Delicate and beautiful.
Reply
:iconreble-cheeze:
Reble-Cheeze Featured By Owner Jan 6, 2006
`OMG!~
>w< TRICKSTERS FANART!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! *glomps!* ur my new best friend :XD: instaint fav!
Reply
:iconhappineff:
happineff Featured By Owner Jan 8, 2006
Hee hee! Thanks! Glad you like it. I have another of them in my scraps.. Hmm.. [link] here. :)
Reply
:iconkiny-shira:
Kiny-Shira Featured By Owner Dec 31, 2005
if the clubs not gone by now ill goin i absolutly adore Tamoras work!!:D have u read her latest book called The Will of the Empress.

*~Kiny-Shira~*;p
Reply
:iconhappineff:
happineff Featured By Owner Jan 1, 2006
No, I saw it in a bookstore but I haven't read it yet. Is is part of the Circle of Magic series? Because I haven't read any of those yet. I really should, tho. :-p Thanks for commenting :)
Reply
:iconflorita:
Florita Featured By Owner Nov 26, 2005
omgosh i love this pic! I :love: Nawat!!!!! This picture is very...how do you say, captures the mood of Aly/Nawat
Reply
:iconniranaroon:
NiranAroon Featured By Owner Oct 6, 2005  Student Digital Artist
Eeeeh! I LOVE NAWAT! *heart bubbles* This is a really great picture, it captures all the cuteness of these two! n.n
Reply
:iconhappineff:
happineff Featured By Owner Oct 10, 2005
Thanks so much! I want to draw more of these two, I think they're so cute. :aww:
Reply
:iconrhiannonrevolts:
rhiannonrevolts Featured By Owner Aug 9, 2005
You are ridiculously talented. Really lovely, and I enjoy their expressions immensely.
Reply
:iconhappineff:
happineff Featured By Owner Aug 12, 2005
Thanks! ^^ I'm glad you like it
Reply
:iconshaucker:
Shaucker Featured By Owner Feb 15, 2005
That's adorable! I love Aly's pose! Finally, someone who does Tamora fanart...i keep telling myself I will, and then...well...I'll just join the club or something. That'll show 'em.

Hey, FMR! You dig Futurama!
Reply
:iconfriendlymotherrabbit:
FriendlyMotherRabbit Featured By Owner Feb 7, 2005
Very cute, I like the poses.
Reply
:iconastrastella:
Astrastella Featured By Owner Feb 4, 2005
aww, aly looks so cuutteee, and very much like alannas daughter, she also kinda looks like this girl in my algebra class....huh... im very angry with myself that i still have not read tricksters choice, i somehow got into my head that it wouldnt be as good as tamoras other series... but i hear there are cameos of daine and kel in it, so i must read it anyway, if for nothing else than my love of my favorite little(well..not in the case of kel...) heroines!
Reply
Add a Comment:
 
×




Details

Submitted on
February 2, 2005
Image Size
103 KB
Resolution
801×576
Link
Thumb

Stats

Views
8,793
Favourites
142 (who?)
Comments
37
Downloads
348