happineff's avatar

Aly and Nawat

141 37 8K (1 Today)
By happineff   |   
Published:
© 2005 - 2020 happineff
So I've started this club on DA that is for fans of Tamora Pierce's novels, and I keep encouraging people to make fanart of their favorite characters of her novels. And yet I myself have very few fanart drawings of my own! So last month I threw together some pen sketches of my favorite characters and watercolored them because my photoshop is currently inaccessible. Worked out pretty good.

This is Aly and Nawat from the books "Trickster's Choice" and "Trickster's Queen." Aly has become a spy in a different country after she gets kidnapped by pirates and sold as a slave. The Trickster god sends Nawat to help her in her spy stuff, only the thing is that Nawat is actually a crow. He transforms into a man to help in her world and they start a romance. If Nawat looks a little weird in his pose (with the arm up) it's because I sorta envisioned him hanging from a tree. Somehow... Anyway, silly crowman. He eats bugs.
Image size
801x576px 103.01 KB
Comments37
anonymous's avatar
Join the community to add your comment. Already a deviant? Log In
The-Ventriloquist's avatar
The-VentriloquistHobbyist General Artist
Oh, Nawat. You and your crow antics! XD

I like this a lot. Ally and Nawat both look so cute! This is so beautiful. :)
halomoon's avatar
halomoonHobbyist Traditional Artist
i love it but i was shocked when it said Aly for its sorta my name!
joni-lynne's avatar
joni-lynneStudent Traditional Artist
I love this.. Aly looks surprisingly like I imagine her.
I just started reading the Tricksters books for (literally) the third time.
:D
So I'm looking up fanart!!
joni-lynne's avatar
joni-lynneStudent Traditional Artist
I love this.. Aly looks surprisingly like I imagine her.
I just started reading the Tricksters books for (literally) the third time.
:D
So I'm looking up fanart!!
Philiemeister's avatar
nice nawat looks a bit like a girl though :P
Marco-Island's avatar
I love Aly and Nawat!
I also love your pic! ^^
akkigrl's avatar
Awww. So cute!!
And I love their expressions. Awesome job!!
:+fav:
inspirationcrisis's avatar
its soooooo cute!!! i love her books sooooooooo much...... im totally obsessed.......
SwwweetPie's avatar
I love this!!

Nawat and Aly are so in love!!!:love:

Great job!!
cSketch's avatar
cSketchHobbyist General Artist
Aww, they are very cute. :heart:
StaccatoHarmony's avatar
That's so SWEET!
katymoon05's avatar
katymoon05Hobbyist General Artist
awesome! link me to the club!
TolkienkookAD's avatar
aw! thats so KYOOT!
Suziebob's avatar
I love it. I just reread Trickster's Queen and I can completely see them acting that way. Gorgeously drawn and painted as well.

Now where is this club you mentioned... ;)
emoly93's avatar
emoly93 Writer
Yay! Finally, someone who draws Aly the way I imagine her! :+fav: for you!
falconfire's avatar
I love Tamora Pierce! She is one of my fav authors. You did a awsome job
on Aly and Nawat.
UltimatelyAnonymous's avatar
Nawat taught my boyfriend and I the wonders of matefeeding....*.*
UltimatelyAnonymous's avatar
OMG!!!!!! I USED TO LOOOOOOOOOOVE NAWAT! THAT IS SO FREAKING COOL! And you had His Dark Materials fanart, too....*.*
YOUR PICTURE'S ADORABLE!
Krysta-Nightheart's avatar
YAY Tamora Pierce fanart!!!!!! finally!!!
Yamika's avatar
OMG!!1 I LOVE IT!!
^-^ just wonderful!!
Vegtables45's avatar
Oh finally! some Tamora Pierce fanart!
I love the way that you drew Nawat. :) He looks so cute and innocent.
Fav
anonymous's avatar
Join the community to add your comment. Already a deviant? Log In