|8 min read
Anamaris's avatar
By Anamaris   |   
0 0 288 (1 Today)


The system and its rules merely exist in Geronimo! for certain events, and can be optionally used by players for complicated actions.

This includes contests between two or more characters, tasks that may require an extended period of time, and botches, or failures with disastrous consequences.

It is entirely possible to roleplay without ever using the system. The choice to use it or join others that do, even how it's used, is completely up to you. However, keep in mind that certain main events will use this system, so it would be a good idea to at least be familiar with it. It is also necessary to go over the attributes for the stat section of your art application.

The system used in Geronimo! is largely based on White Wolf's Storyteller system. Because that system is meant to be used in a tabletop game setting, it's been largely modified to fit our roleplaying needs.

The methods we will use to resolve tasks and conflicts in the Storyteller system involve stats, which use only go up to five dots each.

The key traits of characters using this system are six cardinal Attributes; things like Abilities and Spells simply add further advantages for characters.

If you rather use these traits as a simple guide that is allowed as well. The ones who have a say are usually the participants themselves.


Actions are resolved in the Storyteller System by your character's stats. Actions have difficulty levels, which are usually 4, although some mods might change it depending on the scenario. Adding those particular stats will equal a number. If they equal the difficulty or higher they are counted as successes. Using our default difficulty as an example, 1+2=3 miss, 4+10 =14 success!

       The higher the number, the more favorable the result. One success of difficulty 4 is sufficient for basic tasks, while a higher number may be required for difficult tasks or tasks performed in trying conditions. In the end, the choice is between the players.


A character's health is tracked via health points. When a character suffers wounds, these are subtracted from their health points in sequential order.

The first few health points represent minor damage, while the later ones indicate serious injury which debilitates, incapacitates or even kills the character.

A character's Stamina attribute acts like a shield to a character's health before damage actually affects their health directly. For example, if a character has 5 dots in stamina they can take 5 damage without it affecting the character (in the image it is represented by the purple bar). Once the stamina is depleted, and it reaches their 10/10 health pool, the characters begin to be affected negatively.

In addition, there are three different types of damage, which determine how long a wound takes to heal and the effect a final wound has on a character (i.e. unconsciousness, torpor, death etc.).

Most character types have up to ten health points, though exceptional characters like Legendary Characters and Exalted Characters may have more.

The standard levels are:
10/10 HP Full Health. No penalties are issued.

9/9 - 7/7 HP Bruised. No penalties are issued.

6/7 HP Hurt.  -1 penalty to actions and no movement penalties.

5/7 HP Injured.  -1 penalty to actions and movement is slightly impaired.

4/7 HP Wounded.  -2 penalty to actions and movement is limited to walking and jogging.

3/7 HP Mauled.  -2 penalty to actions and movement is significantly impaired.

2/7 HP Crippled.  -5 penalty to actions and movement is nearly impossible.

1/7 HP Incapacitated. A character may take no actions or move due to unconsciousness.


Damage, as part of the health system, is a source of potential or actual bodily harm.
Weapons and moves, along with other sources of injury, including poisons, diseases and natural hazards, are rated with a percentage of final damage.

Calculating damage simply takes adding an attribute's dots with a move's dots. The attribute a character uses to sum up the damage is dependent on the damage category of the move.

       Damage can fall under the following categories, and are summed up with the aligning attributes:

       Physical + Strength or Stamina

       Special + Intelligence or Resolve

       Status + Dexterity or Perception      


Your character has been chosen by a god, whether they believe in said god or not. This god will not let you die until their goals are met.

If an incapacitated character takes further damage, they are dead by the definition of the game; however, because our characters cannot be killed off due to the will of the gods or without the creator's consent, most characters revive in either two places:

One is the same location, but five minutes after. A lot can happen in five minutes. You revive hurt (6/7HP). Equipment suffers damage if you choose this option. The second time you choose to revive in the same location causes a random equipment to break, removing any stat improvement they might provide.

The other is in the game's closest sanctuary location. Sanctuary spots are a location that reveres your patron god, be it a small shrine or a large temple.

anonymous's avatar
Join the community to add your comment. Already a deviant? Log In